The Conference of Parties (COP) is a convention of world leaders and scientific experts for discussing climate change established by the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). COP26 is the latest of these gatherings which will take place in November, 2021. World leaders participating in COP26 have a broad range of policies that require their attention, ranging from mitigation strategies to extensive economic reforms. The countries most capable of adapting to climate change are those who have relatively high incomes and low economic vulnerability. These countries are better prepared to deal with the climate crisis than low income countries with high economic vulnerability because they can afford to invest in net-zero transition projects and adaptation technologies. On top of that, higher income countries are better prepared for infrastructure loss in the case of climate related disaster – like floods, tropical storms, droughts and wildfires.

Lower income nations by contrast have economies that are less capable of investing in green revolutions. Dealing with decreases in crop yields and infrastructure damage as a result of climate change will also be more difficult in countries that have vulnerable economies. The least developed nations are often dependent on agriculture and other contributions from nature such as fishing or logging. Adverse weather events or changes in climate also threaten tourism in small island developing states. In the event of severe weather events, the least developed communities will face the challenge of rebuilding with rather limited finances and resources.

Which Countries Are the Least Developed?

According to the least developed countries group under the UNFCCC, the least developed countries include:
1 Angola
2 Benin
3 Burkina Faso
4 Burundi
5 Central African Republic
6 Chad
7 Comoros
8 Democratic Republic of the Congo
9 Djibouti
10 Equatorial Guinea
11 Eritrea
12 Ethiopia
13 Gambia
14 Guinea
15 Guinea-Bissau
16 Lesotho
17 Liberia
18 Madagascar
19 Malawi
20 Mali
21 Mauritania
22 Mozambique
23 Niger
24 Rwanda
25 Sao Tome and Principe

26 Senegal
27 Sierra Leone
28 Somalia
29 Sudan
30 Togo
31 Uganda
32 United Republic of Tanzania
33 Zambia
34 Afghanistan
35 Bangladesh
36 Bhutan
37 Cambodia
38 Lao People’s Democratic Republic
39 Maldives
40 Myanmar
41 Nepal
42 Timor-Leste
43 Yemen
44 Haiti
45 Kiribati
46 Samoa
47 Solomon Islands
48 Tuvalu
49 Vanuatu

COP26 Plan for Developing Nations

Climate finances are the funds that will be provided to developing nations by developed nations to aid in addressing climate change and its impacts. Funds like the Green Climate Fund were devised to provide developing nations with funds to draw from and use as support. Alternative methods for climate finance include loans, export credits and government donations. The pledged for $100 billion a year for climate change has been discussed as a central issue since 2009. Failure to deliver on such a promise further deteriorates the trust of developing nations. COP26 is an opportunity for developed nations to sort out the details of this their commitment. Ethically, the most developed nations have the greatest responsibility to help support peoples who bare the burden of adapting to climate change. Developed nations are the primary beneficiaries of fossil fuel use, they are therefore liable for the consequences associated with climate change globally. The territories that make up the Group of 20 (G20) generate more than half of the world’s anthropogenic greenhouse gas emissions and make up most of the world’s gross domestic product. COP26 has been described as a “make or break moment” for climate change mitigation strategies, particularly for island nations. Internationally, these communities require support for their continued survival. No price can be put on the lives of the people or their contributions to the rest of the world.

coastal city, grass and trees
coastal territory

Leave a Reply